NBA Changes Playoff Seeding for 2015-16 Season

The suits who chill behind the scenes at the NBA have made a refreshing change to its playoff format. released today that the NBA Board of Governors have approved changes to the way teams are seeded after 82 games, which will start this coming season.

The voting followed recommendation from the NBA’s Competition Committee.

The board’s unanimous decision means the eight playoff teams from each conference will be seeded in order of their regular-season record. A format that makes a lot more sense than the old one.

In previous seasons each division winner was awarded a top four seed in their conference regardless of record.

The changes have also trickled down to home-court advantage in the playoffs regarding who wins a tiebreak. Where home-court advantage would have previously been awarded to the division winner, now the seed goes to the team who won in head-to-head results.

A logical move by the league that’s been long overdue.

By Oliver Dunn


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s